About us

About us

Our History

Letterkenny derived its name from Leitir Ceanann which means, The Fair Headed Hillside. 

The town was first established around the year 1620 by Sir John Mulberry, and at this time, the town consisted of fifty thatched cottages and one water-mill. Today, Letterkenny is one of the fastest growing towns in Ireland and is certainly the main town in County Donegal. The Baptist witness can be traced back to the early nineteenth century. However, the modern period of Baptist witness in Letterkenny can be traced back to 1975 to the Irish Baptist Home Mission's work. We are a member of the Association of Baptists Churches in Ireland (LINK)].

Our Leadership


Stephen Wilson


Allister Johnston

Peter Dickson


Mark Brown

Ivica Pechar

Jeff Vance

Manuel Campusano

Harold McCrossan

Letterkenny Baptist Church is part of Association of Baptist churches Ireland.

association of baptist churches Ireland logo